1. Home
  2. Outdoor Fire Safety
  3. Open Burning Status

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Burn Proclamation (June 1, 2024)

You MUST obtain an open fire permit to conduct burning of residential or agricultural vegetation waste within the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District. Please use our online burn permit to obtain a permit. For further information, please contact the Office of the Fire Marshal at 909-386-8400. On behalf of your local firefighters, we appreciate your continued cooperation and support.

NOTE:  ALL open fires (except for fires fueled solely by natural gas or propane) must be extinguished during Red Flag or Fire Weather Watch Conditions, when local winds exceed 10 miles per hour, or when directed by Fire District personnel.

Location Burn Status
Division 1:
West Valley

All unincorporated West Valley areas, including the Cities of Fontana and Upland.

Burning Not Allowed
Division 2:
East Valley

All unincorporated East Valley areas, including the Cities of San Bernardino and Grand Terrace.

Burning Not Allowed
Division 3:

All Mountain Areas, except for within Running Springs Fire District, and the Big Bear Fire Authority boundaries.

Burning Not Allowed
Division 4:
South Desert

All unincorporated South Desert and River Areas, including the Town of Yucca Valley, the City of 29 Palms, and the City of Needles, except for Morongo Valley.

Burning Not Allowed
Division 5:
North Desert

All unincorporated High Desert and North Desert Areas, including the City of Hesperia and City of Adelanto, except for Yermo, Daggett, Newberry Springs and Wrightwood Fire Authority boundaries.

Burning Not Allowed